RSS

We searchers…..

24 Aug

“I am one of the searchers. There are, I believe, millions of us. We are not unhappy, but neither are we really content. We continue to explore life, hoping to uncover its ultimate secret. We continue to explore ourselves, hoping to understand. We like to walk along the beach, we are drawn by the ocean, taken by its power, its unceasing motion, its mystery and unspeakable beauty. We like forests and mountains,, deserts and hidden rivers, and the lonely cities as well. Our sadness is as much a part of our lives as is our laughter. To share our sadness with one we love is perhaps as great a joy as we can know – unless it be to share our laughter. 
We searchers are ambitious only for life itself, for everything beautiful it can provide. Most of all we love and want to be loved. We want to live in a relationship that will not impede our wandering, nor prevent our search, nor lock us in prison walls; that will take us for what little we have to give. We do not want to prove ourselves to another or compete for love.

For wanderers, dreamers, and lovers, for lonely men and women who dare to ask of life everything good and beautiful. It is for those who are too gentle to live among wolves.” 
― James KavanaughThere Are Men Too Gentle to Live Among Wolves

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “We searchers…..

  1. skymunki

    July 29, 2014 at 5:59 am

    wow beautiful.

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 29, 2014 at 11:21 am

      Thank you so much for stopping by…and taking the time to leave such a nice comment… 😉

       
  2. atkokosplace

    August 17, 2013 at 12:00 am

    Stunning photograph!

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      August 17, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      Koko….Thank you….for both your encouraging comment on my photograph. But also Thank You for the absolute WEALTH of Great information you’ve posted on your blog….Color me HAPPY!

       
      • atkokosplace

        August 17, 2013 at 2:40 pm

        You are absolute sunshine! Made my day on this rainy afternoon. Thank you so much for your kind words. There are so many wonderful posts on your blog, that I must follow to make the time to view it all. Glad I found you. Your photos and words are inspirational! Thanks you!

         
      • Kirsten Dinesen

        August 17, 2013 at 2:42 pm

        Thank you….looks as though, we have found each other….I think this may be….a very fortuitous event for both of us….

         
  3. Thomas Ross

    July 10, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    I love the image and the passage.

    I’ll be happily following your journey.

    Tom

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 14, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      Thomas ….Thank You….for such a lovely comment…..I am also, happily following your journey as well.

       
  4. m5son

    June 25, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    That is a really fabulous quote and photo combination. I really like those words. Was that photo taken on Vancouver Island? I may have shot from the same place…

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      June 25, 2012 at 2:37 pm

      Thank YOU!! I love James Kavenaugh… the photo seemed to express “my vision” of that particular passage from the book…..

      Yes, it was taken on Vancouver Island in Butchart Gardens..I think this spot is right below the Japanese Garden area…

       
      • m5son

        June 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm

        I do have the same shot…..how funny is that. Mine was taken summer of ’04. There are a few boats in mine.

         
      • Kirsten Dinesen

        June 25, 2012 at 2:43 pm

        I will never forget…when I first came down the hill and looked up….I was absolutely stunned at the shear beauty of that little inlet….I literally felt as though I were walking through a living “postcard”…which I was!!!

         
  5. Aspergers Girls

    June 24, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    gorgeous photo, lovely post, and wonderful quote. Great combo meal….and no calories! 🙂 thank you 🙂

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      June 24, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      I am still laughing…Thank you!! and…what a clever remark…..So happy I could serve it up with no calories!!

       
  6. sherijkennedyriverside

    June 24, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Hmm, interesting quote. I wander to these places, but feel I have the things that are being sought for in this prose and rather than searching I embrace it all with wonder. Rather than finding mystery and searching for answers in the forest, etc. these are the places where I feel sure and content. My answers are already within and in nature I celebrate this joy. This isn’t to say I’m beyond learning…every day is a grand, yet content, adventure and to me that IS the ultimate secret of life.

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      June 24, 2012 at 4:38 pm

      Sheri, such a beautifully written and lovely expression of feeling …and inner peace…Thank you for sharing such a tranquil and soothing perspective.

       
      • sherijkennedyriverside

        June 24, 2012 at 6:31 pm

        It was amazing for me to realize I felt that way when I read those words. I was crazy with seeking when younger and filled with anxiety and stress. It all changed when I quit seeking to understand. I have seen it said that the journey is the answer, and for me that has become true.
        Thanks for your beautiful blog and for your kind words.

         
  7. Gunta

    June 24, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    Kirsten….. your best yet! The photo alone is gorgeous, but the quote…. amazing resonance there! I’ve ordered up the book from my library. Thanks for sharing both.

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      June 24, 2012 at 4:23 pm

      Thank you Gunta…..I’ve been searching my files for a photograph which would express my feelings for the James Kavanaugh quote…I so love his work.

       
  8. Stefan (maxima)

    June 24, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    Fantastic pictures , her glare radiating a special tranquility!

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      June 24, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      Thank you Stefan….on summer days…the light in the Pacific Northwest is usually filled with magic.

       

Leave a Reply

 
