RSS

From all I may be……

16 Jul

There is a pleasure in the pathless woods, 
There is a rapture on the lonely shore, 
There is society, where none intrudes, 
By the deep sea, and music in its roar: 
I love not man the less, but Nature more, 
From these our interviews, in which I steal 
From all I may be, or have been before, 
To mingle with the Universe, and feel 
What I can ne’er express, yet cannot all conceal.

Lord George Gordon Byron

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “From all I may be……

  1. radicalhope

    July 17, 2012 at 8:49 am

    I heard this and I thought of your picture in this post. John Krakuer used the quote in the epilogue of Into Thin Air, but the quote is originally from Blood Orchid by Charles Bowden.

    “Now I dream of the soft touch of women, the songs of birds, the smell of soil crumbling between my fingers, and the brilliant green of plants that I diligently nurture. I am looking for land to buy and I will sow it with deer and wild pigs and birds and cottonwoods and sycamores and build a pond and the ducks will come and fish will rise in the early evening light and take insects into their jaws. There will be paths through this forest and you and I will lose ourselves in the soft curves and folds of the ground. We will come to the water’s edge and lie on the grass and there will be a small, unobtrusive sign that says, This is the real world, muchachos, and we are all in it.”

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

      Thank you !!…for the absolute BEST SMILE of the day…

      I wish… I had thought of Krakauer’s passage, when I was setting up this post…..consider your reminder… filed away, for some future use….I am still smiling!! 😉

       
  2. oakworld

    July 17, 2012 at 12:11 am

    Hello Kirsten,just added you to ‘Break-Free Patrons ‘.Visit http://oakworld.wordpress.com/ and click on your image.

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 17, 2012 at 9:38 am

      What an honor!!….Thank you so very much my fellow “Earthian” I could not be more pleased! 😉

       
  3. Sunnyace

    July 16, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Reblogged this on Sunnyace Reblog Collections.

     
  4. Aspergers Girls

    July 16, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    wonderful words to match wonderful photo…of course I always giggle at the mention of Lord Byron …the rascal 🙂

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 16, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      a dashing scoundrel and a rascal….ahhh yes, but never boring…eh?

       
  5. barbaramattio

    July 16, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    I love it and what a nice little lift to the day!

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 16, 2012 at 2:00 pm

      Thank you Barbara…it is also a nice lift to my day to read such a lovely comment! 😉

       
  6. Gunta

    July 16, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    Your quote brought back memories of reading it when it was compulsory. The wonderful thing is that it speaks to me now as it never did back then. Thank you for reintroducing it.

     
    • Kirsten Dinesen

      July 16, 2012 at 2:09 pm

      Amazingly Gunta….I felt the very same way…when I chose Lord Bryon’s poem for this photograph….I smiled….and remembered my angst during my clueless attempt to interpret this compulsory read …so long ago….Interesting how that works…eh?

       

Leave a Reply

 
